Pride…. A day of mixed emotions

I went to my first Pride today in Sheffield. It wasn’t as busy as I had expected but I think that was a good thing for me as I didn’t go into sensory overload from the crowd and it made it a more enjoyable day overall. But I didn’t expect the mixture of emotions that would come from today.

  • I was elated that I got to share today with CW and that I was surrounded by Queer people who get it.
  • I was disappointed by the obvious groups of teens who were there because they thought it was the ‘in thing’ and just wanted to get street cred.
  •  I cried my heart out during the HIV/AIDS vigil as I lit a candle for my beloved Beryl who was taken from us and too soon and in doing so released a lot of the grief I haven’t been able to let out. I’m still feeling a little shaken by that emotion.

All in all today was a good day. A coming together of the LGBTQIA community without the undercurrents of arguments that can occur within our community. I wore my Pride colours with honour today and was able to wear the rainbow in my heart on my sleeve (or cheeks) for all to see.

  

Thoughts?

