Disability

Lack of Spoons

I posted a tweet earlier that said:

Little sleep + (hormones – caffeine) = do NOT talk to me unless you bring gifts

A light hearted way of saying how few spoons I have today. My body and I are at odds and it’s going to be an annoying day in that regard. What follows below is me moaning, in large part, so I’m not expecting you to read it, but I need to get it out.

Yesterday my left hip decided it was going to cause me pain. It does it occasionally, but it basically means that walking, sitting, lying down are all a balance of finding exactly the right position which causes the least amount of pain and doesn’t aggravate my knees any further. As you maybe be able to imagine, this isn’t the easiest thing to do. The physical toll of just my hip and knees acting up is enough to put me in bed early.

Next we’ll add it being that time of the month. I’m currently sitting here with a heat patch, having dosed up on pain meds for the above issues, the cramps and also the headache I have accompanying things. I want to sleep. I really want to sleep, I only got about five hours last night, I suffered with one of my worse cases of insomnia and then got woken by the upstairs neighbours having a workout of the bedroom variety. Not the first time I’ve heard them and won’t be the last.

I’m also feeling emotionally exhausted. In part that’s caused by physical pain, in part by hormones, and in part by anxiety. Somehow I don’t think I’m going to be moving from the couch today except for food and the bathroom, as much as I need to go out and get a couple of bits that I forgot to pick up yesterday. I’m currently struggling just to watch Netflix and you may ask why I don’t go back to sleep, but the truth is, I couldn’t sleep even though I want to..

Thoughts?

